Reticence- A Poem

I have so many words I want to say.

But it isn’t that easy

And I want to tell you what I feel

And what I think

But the world can’t let that happen.

You are you, and I am me.

And silence is a force of strings

That loosely binds us to common ground.

My mouth opens but is slipped shut by society.

And my heart deepens in my chest

And I want to stop breathing.

My mouth is open and no air comes in

And my hands start moving

They’re out of control.

You are you so you look at me.

And your eyes are waiting for me to speak.

I want to tell you what I am thinking

What I am thinking is not anything important

And I will not change the future.

Our fixed time stops while you wait

And our fixed time tightens and the strings shake.

I have so many things to say.

I have so many words I’d like to speak.

Sadly now everyone is waiting, not just you.

And now I’m looking down into the swirling world below me.

It shouldn’t be this way, but the world has let this happen.

So I close my mouth

My words don’t matter.

I will not speak today.

I will breathe again and have the pressure slowly fade.

My hands stop moving and my mind is not shaking

And you are you so you understand.

And you move your eyes away

As the fixed time moves onward again

And I am me so I just nod my head

Because even though I have so many things I want to say

I know I can always write them.

And I have so many things to write.

And when I write, the world is not watching.

And when I write, the air is not thick.

And you are still you, so you still understand.

The strings that tied me down are dissolved.

My chest is not full of the gray fuzzy substance

My airway is clear, and I do not have to speak.

What is on my mind is soberly escaping.

I want to tell you what I feel

What I think.

Just talk. However if you mess up, everyone will remember forever and you should probably consider never speaking ever again.
“Just talk. However if you mess up, everyone will remember forever and you should probably consider never speaking ever again. On the second thought, you shouldn’t even open your mouth; what you have to say isn’t even worth the oxygen.”      -My thoughts everyday
One thought on “Reticence- A Poem

Please comment, your opinion is greatly appreciated!

